About the teamwork

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
gerstrong
Vorticon Elite

About the teamwork

Post by gerstrong »

Well, time to get a bit personal again, because this topic gets onto my feelings.

First up there are some team behavior patterns which I have seen during the 5 years of development and it seems to be pretty common in our society. Well as it is my first project which relies a bit an team work, it has been a new and enriching experience. It's not comparable to teams were goals are somehow forced.

For what is the status right now, I'm pretty unhappy. I see no one working on this project anymore while I see other projects where there are dozens of people working on it.

I consider myself in that regard a bad leader, but I try to get better. Back in 2009 there were Albert, Pizza2004, Tulip in between others who really helped.

Since starting of 2011 it really declined and I think mostly it is my fault. To some people I have been unfair in such situations. Other than that I think for most of the teammates it was a short term goal and as I'm the leader of the project, obviously they wanted to go their own way.

In these days I understand that behavior a bit more, but also continue mostly by myself on the project. I give credits to those who helped in the past and continue giving them, but the fact remains that it got a one man project. That is also the reason why features and releases take time.

Working together makes things getting done in less time. Now there is Hagel who helped me finding bugs and I'm very grateful for that. Also Tulip told lately that he wanted to help. He did that some times years ago. I think he has to much personal stuff to done. I still have some hopes though...

What will happen in future I don't know, we'll see...